Warning! This documentation is outdated. Visit help center for the latest documentation.

Using views

The collection of columns in a spreadsheet, their individual width and order in relation to each other can be saved as a custom view. This is handy when you want certain settings to always be applied to a spreadsheet when returning to it, or after a browser refresh.

How a spreadsheet is sorted, grouped and filtered is also saved into the view.

Switching views

../_images/view_menu.png

To switch between views, click the views button and select the view you want to switch to.

Managing views

The Manage views dialog is where you can rename and remove your saved views. To open the dialog, click the views button and select Manage views. The View drop down shows all your saved views for the spreadsheet you are looking at.

../_images/manage_view_dialog.png

Note

Changes to the name and sharing settings will be saved when you click the Save button. The remove and default actions are applied immediately after confirmation.

Saving a view

To save a view, change the spreadsheet the way you like, click the Views button and then select Save or Save as.

Changing a view

To change the settings of a view, first make it active by selecting the view in the Views menu. Change the spreadsheet as you like, click the Views button and then select Save. The view is now saved with your new configuration.

Removing a view

To remove a view, open the Manage views dialog, select the view you want to remove and click Remove view.

Renaming a view

To rename an existing view, open the Manage views dialog and select the view you want to rename. Enter a new name and click Save.

Sharing views

A view can be saved as a shared view which means that you can share your view settings with other users. Upon saving the view you can select to share it with all users or only specific users.

Follow these steps to save a view as a shared view:

  1. Click the Views button in the toolbar and select Manage views in the menu.
  2. Select the view you want to share in the dialog.
  3. Click the Share with everyone checkbox to share the view with all users, or select users in the Share with drop down to only share the view with the selected users.

Setting a view as the default view

The default view is presented at the top of the views menu. It can be any of the following:

  1. The built-in default view provided with ftrack.
  2. A global default view.
  3. A project default view configured for a particular project.

A view can be saved as global default or project default from the Manage views dialog.

Note

Saving a default view always creates a copy of the view you have selected.

Note

The ability to change the default views is based on the Can save a view as global default and Can save a view as project default permissions.